• Product 4 of 5

Brother Dege - Folk Songs Of The American Longhair Vinyl Gatefold LP | Black

  • Description


"Folk Songs of the American Longhair" (2010) is Brother Dege's now critically-acclaimed debut album - a record that Quentin Tarantino later referred to as "like a greatest hits album” of new Delta blues. "American Longhair" delivers postmodern tales of desperate southerners, apocalyptic prophecies, midnight angels, hippie drifters, burning barns, and the endless ghosts that haunt the history of the Deep South. Quietly self-released with no distribution, no representation, and absolutely no hype, the album quickly earned four & five star reviews and gained the attention of numerous tastemakers in film and TV, scoring sync placements on Discovery Channel’s "After the Catch (Deadliest Catch)", National Geographic's "Hard Riders", womens’ cycling documentary "Half the Road", Netflix’s "The Afflicted", and most notably, hand-picked by Quentin Tarantino for inclusion in the movie and soundtrack to "Django Unchained" where Dege’s song "Too Old to Die Young” plays in the movie’s pivotal, climactic scene.

01. Hard Row to Hoe
02. The Girl Who Wept Stones
03. Too Old to Die Young
04. To Fill a Hole
05. House of the Dying Sun
06. The Battle of New Orleans
07. Dead and Gone
08. The World's Longest Hotdog
09. Old Angel Midnight
10. Black is the Night

Gatefold LP (black vinyl) with padded inner sleeve and protection sleeve

* incl. tax, plus shipping

The crossed out prices are the previous prize at SPKR.

SPKR is a multifaceted, independent media group specializing in the discovery, manufacturing, distribution and presentation of high quality music and art.